Allied powers World War II

Allied powers World War II

Allied powers, also called Allies, those countries allied in opposition to the Central Powers (Germany, Austria-Hungary, and Turkey) in World War I or to the Axis powers (Germany, Italy, and Japan) in World War II.

Allied powers World War II

Starting this side with these nations and with the course of the war and the passage of time began to join more powers such as..:

  1. Flag of Luxembourg. SVG Luxembourg in 1940.
  2. This was one of the most important nations in the United States in 1941 as it was the one that was most involved in this battle.
  3. Mexican flag Mexico (following the German aggression against Mexican oil tankers) in 1942.
  4. Colombian flag Colombia in 1943.
  5. Flag of Romania.SVG Romania in 1944.
  6. Turkish flag Turkey in 1945.
  7. And many more every year.

The allies of World War II were the countries that opposed the Axis powers in the armed conflict. The Soviet Union, the United States, and the British Empire were the main allied forces.

France, before its fall and after Operation Tocha, and China in the Asia-Pacific theatre of operations are also considered allied powers.

As for Poland, it was the first allied country, as its invasion began the Second World War in Europe, while Brazil was the most significant country in South America to participate.

Main Powers

The main powers on that side were Great Britain, France (except for the period of its occupation by Germany in 1940-1944), the USSR (since the German aggression in June 1941), the United States (since the Japanese aggression in December 1941) and China, which had been fighting against Japan since 1937, before the outbreak of the general war.

More broadly, all the signatories of the United Nations Declaration on 1 January 1942 are referred to as allies.

Altogether there were 26 countries among which there were, in addition to the great powers already mentioned, European countries occupied by the Axis (Belgium, Holland, Luxembourg, Norway, Czechoslovakia, Yugoslavia, Poland, Greece), British Empire domains and colonies (Canada, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, India) and Latin American countries traditionally under North American influence (Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama).

The story

The Allied alliance officially entered the conflict after September 1, 1939, when the German invasion of Poland, Great Britain, France, Australia, and New Zealand took place and declared war on September 3, 1939, on Germany.

As protectorates of the United Kingdom, countries such as Nepal, Newfoundland, Tonga, South Africa, and Canada joined in the following days.

The United States joined the Allies after the attack on Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941. The United Nations Declaration, on January 1, 1942, officially joined 26 other countries as allies, including Mexico and Brazil, which joined the war through attacks by German forces on their fleet, bringing significant commercial and military participation (through voluntary forces) to the war.

Following the launch of Operation Barbosa, a mutual support pact was made between the Allies and the Soviet-led Comintern.

This pact that emerged in the latter half of the war and its decisions determined the Allied strategy around the world.

You may be interested:

Facebook Comments